Restrict external sharing
- Open the Google Admin console.
- Go to Menu → Apps → Google Workspace → Drive and Docs.
- Select Sharing settings.
- Open Sharing options.
- Select the top-level organisational unit unless you intend to test the change on a smaller organisational unit or configuration group.
- Choose the appropriate external-sharing setting.
- For departments that do not need external collaboration, set external sharing to Off.
- For staff who legitimately need to share with clients or suppliers, leave external sharing On, disable the option that allows users to make files or published web content visible to anyone with the link, and require users to share directly with named recipients.
- If your interface provides an option to warn users before sharing externally, enable it.
- Select Save.
- If configuring a child organisational unit, select Override when prompted.
Google states that these changes can take up to 24 hours to apply and that old and new settings may be intermittently enforced during that period.
